Ordering California Death Certificates
If you need to order California Death Certificates can be obtained in the county where the death occurred. The cost is $24-$28 (dependent on local health department) per copy and requires a notarized authorization form. Depending on the method used for ordering, a third-party service fee may be charged when ordering California Death Certificates.
Who Can Order
Pursuant to California Health and Safety Code Section 103526, only specific individuals can obtain an authorized certified copy of a death certificate. For a complete list, refer to the appropriate county’s guidelines.
Most commonly, the following persons have access under the law:
- A child, grandparent, grandchild, sibling, spouse, or domestic partner of the registrant.
- The registrant, a parent or legal guardian of the registrant.
- A party entitled to receive the record by court order; law enforcement or government agency conducting official business.
- An attorney representing the registrant or the registrant’s estate
- Licensed funeral establishments.
Ordering Death Certificates
Each county sets its own process for ordering death certificates. Best Cremation recommends accessing the specific county’s site to ensure you have the most current information available.
- Los Angeles
- Orange County
- Riverside County
- San Bernardino County
- San Diego County
- Ventura County